clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester City Girls Get England Call-up

8 Blues Feature In Wiegman’s First Squad

Everton Women v Manchester City Women - Barclays FA Women’s Super League Photo by Lewis Storey - The FA/The FA via Getty Images

8 Manchester Women stars have been called up to Sarina Wiegman’s first England squad, but three miss out due to injury.

Wiegman takes charge of her first competitive match for the national side since replacing Phil Neville when the Three Lions play host to North Macedonia Women on 17th September.

City defenders Alex Greenwood, Steph Houghton, Esme Morgan and Demi Stokes all feature, along with Jill Scott and Georgia Stanway in midfield, while Ellen White and Lauren Hemp also receive call-ups.

Sadly, injury has kept Ellie Roebuck, Keira Walsh and Lucy Bronze from making the team.

It is the first England call-up for defender Morgan, who started and starred in City’s 4-0 win at Everton on Saturday.

Other members of the squad include a first call-up for United’s Katie Zelem, while Arsenal’s Beth Mead performance at the weekend against champions Chelsea has forced her into the England reckoning. The winger was excluded from interim boss Hege Riise’s England team and her Team GB squad for the 2021 Olympics after receiving underwhelming reports on her performance. But two goals against Chelsea on Sunday was enough to convince Wiegman to give Mead another chance.

Full team:

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Sandy MacIver (Everton), Carly Telford (Chelsea)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Jessica Carter (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Jill Scott (Manchester City), Lucy Staniforth (Manchester United), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Katie Zelem (Manchester United)

Forwards: Bethany England (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Arsenal), Ebony Salmon (Racing Louisville), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Ellen White (Manchester City)