clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Man City Players Dominate PFA Team Of The Year

6 City Players made the final cut

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City v Tottenham Hotspur - Carabao Cup Final Photo by Matt McNulty - Manchester City/Manchester City FC via Getty Images

Premier League Champions Manchester City reigned in the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Team of the Year which was announced on Friday with 6 players making the Final Cut. How did these players get here?

Manchester City

Goalkeeper Ederson, defenders Joao Cancelo, John Stones, and Ruben Dias, and midfielders Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan were all named in the team, which was voted for by other fellow professionals.

All these Players played a significant role and contributed enormously with their Outstanding Individual Performances throughout the season to help Man City clinch the 2020-21 PL Title.

City registered a total of 19 clean sheets thanks to Ederson who won the Golden Glove for the 2nd Consecutive Year so its no wonder Man City dominated the defensive section.

Right-back Cancelo made 162 recoveries, 28 clearances, and 41 interceptions.

Ruben Dias was a part of 15 Clean Sheets in all competitions for City.

Stones was part of 14 clean sheets for City and scored four goals.

Midfielder Gundogan was on the form of his life this season as he registered 17 goals in all Competitions for the Sky Blues. He delivered numerous Eye-Catching Performances this season which was crucial for his team to win the PL and the League Cup.

De Bruyne, who was named last year’s Player of the Year, is the only player to retain his place from the 2019-20 team after another influential campaign with Man City. He registered 6 goals and 12 assists in his name from throughout the season.

The PFA Team Of The Year

Ederson, Joao Cancelo, John Stones, Ruben Dias, Luke Shaw, Kevin De Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan, Bruno Fernandes, Harry Kane, Mohamed Salah, Heung Min Son.