clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Manchester City Players Nominated for PFA Player of the Year award

Could a City player finally win?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Sebastian Frej/MB Media/Getty Images

Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling have been nominated for the 2019/20 PFA Player of the Year.

Despite winning the Premier League four times in the past decade, no City player has ever won the PFA Player of the Year award which was first launched in 1973/74 and won by the late Leeds United great Norman Hunter.

This campaign, Sterling has bagged 31 goals in all competitions, while De Bruyne topped the Premier League assists charts with 20, equalling the record set by Arsenal legend Thierry Henry set in 2002/03.

Kevin has already earned a hat-trick of prestigious awards for the 2019/20 campaign after winning the public vote for Premier League Player of the Season and also the Manchester City Player of the Year award – the third time he has won the Club vote in five years - plus the Premier League Playmaker of the Season.

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year – Nominees:

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)