clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester City Quartet Nominated For Best FIFA Football Awards

De Bruyne And Bronze Make Main Shortlist

Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City - Premier League Photo Neil Hall - by Pool/Getty Images

Manchester City duo Kevin de Bruyne and Lucy Bronze have been named on FIFA’s shortlists for the Best FIFA Football Awards, while Ellie Roebuck and caroline Weir are also up for awards.

De Bruyne, who was named PFA Player of the Year in September, faces stiff competition in the form of four Liverpool players, plus the usual suspects of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kylian Mbappe.

Bronze returned to City from Lyon over the summer and is up against four of her former Lyon teammates as well as Sam Kerr, Ji So-yun and Pernille Harder of Chelsea, as well as Arsenal’s one woman goal machine Vivianne Miedema, which has scored 10 goals in 7 WSL games so far this season.

Young keeper Roebuck, who has cemented her place in the City first team, has been nominated on the six person line up, while Weir is up for the Puskas award for her strike against Manchester United last season.

The winners will be chosen using a combined voting process involving the captains and head coaches of all national teams internationally, an online ballot of fans and submissions from a select group of more than 200 media representatives, confirmed FIFA.

The voting starts today and will last until 9th December, with the winners being announced during a ceremony on 17th December.

Full List


Thiago Alcantara (Spain, Liverpool)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus)

Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)

Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris St-Germain)

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

Neymar (Brazil, Paris St-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool)


Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)

Delphine Cascarino (France, Lyon)

Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway, Barcelona)

Pernille Harder (Denmark, Chelsea)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain, Barcelona)

Ji So-yun (South Korea, Chelsea)

Sam Kerr (Australia, Chelsea)

Saki Kumagai (Japan, Lyon)

Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Lyon)

Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Arsenal)

Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)