clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine City players in Lionesses squad

Emslie, Weir and Beattie called up for Scotland

Manchester City Women v Birmingham City Women - FA WSL
Georgia Stanway Is One Of Nine Man City Women Called For England Duty
Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Man City Women will have plenty of players on international duty in the upcoming window when nine of their squad will head to Qatar with England for a training camp.

Ellie Roebuck, Steph Houghton, Abbie McManus, Jill Scott, Georgia Stanway, Keira Walsh and Nikita Parris retain their spots from the previous squad while Karen Bardsley and Demi Stokes return following injuries alongside fellow returning players Jade Moore, Ellen White and Jodie Taylor.

They will spend eight days on camp that it likely to introduce the team to the type of heat they will experience in France this summer.

The young Lionesses will also be in action with the U19’s taking part at a competition in the Algarve with Blues Esme Morgan and Jess Park called up while the U21’s will only be taking part in a training camp with Lauren Hemp in the squad.

Scotland will also be on international duty and City players Claire Emslie, Jen Beattie and Caroline Weir have been called up by Shelley Kerr for games against Norway and Iceland in La Manga. The team is also preparing for a return to the Algarve Cup in which they’re in a group with Iceland and Canada and their first WWC in the summer.

Janine Beckie has been called up to a training camp with Canada while Tessa Wullaert will also be away in a camp.

Lionesses are ready for 2019

Lionesses squad:

Karen Bardsley (Man City Women), Mary Earps (VfL Wolfsburg), Ellie Roebuck (Man City Women), Carly Telford (Chelsea FC Women), Hannah Blundell (Chelsea FC Women), Mille Bright (Chelsea FC Women), Lucy Bronze (OL), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Gabby George (Everton Ladies), Alex Greenwood (Man United Women), Steph Houghton (Man City Women), Abbie McManus (Man City Women), Demi Stokes (Man City Women), Leah Williamson (Arsenal Women), Karen Carney (Chelsea FC Women), Izzy Christiansen (OL), Jade Moore (Reading FC Women), Jill Scott (Man City Women), Lucy Staniforth (Birmingham City Women), Georgia Stanway (Man City Women), Keira Walsh (Man City Women), Toni Duggan (FC Barcelona), Fran Kirby (Chelsea FC Women), Beth Mead (Arsenal Women), Nikita Parris (Man City Women), Jodie Taylor (Seattle Reign), Chioma Ubogagu (Orlando Pride/Brisbane Roar) and Ellen White (Birmingham City Women)

U21’s squad:

Sandy MacIver (Clemson University), Sian Rodgers (Aston Villa Ladies), Lucy Parker (Louisiana State University) Mayumi Pacheco (Reading FC Women), Grace Fisk (USC), Lotte Wubben-Moy (UNC), Anna Patten (Florida State University), Sam Tierney (Sheffield United Women), Taylor Hinds (Everton Ladies), Megan Finnigan (Everton Ladies), Ella Toone (Man United Women), Chloe Peplow (Brighton and Hove Albion), Lauren Hemp (Man City Women), Connie Scofield (Birmingham City Women), Mollie Rouse (University of Central Florida), Rebecca Rayner (Sheffield United Women), Shania Hayles (Birmingham City Women), Rinsola Babajide (Liverpool FC Women), Rianna Dean (Tottenham Hotspur Ladies), Chloe Kelly (Everton Ladies), Ellie Brazil (Brighton and Hove Albion) and Charlie Wellings (Birmingham City Women)

U19’s squad:

Hannah Hampton (Birmingham City Women), Emily Ramsey (Man United Women), Niamh Cashin (Rider University), Shannon Cooke (Louisiana State University), Georgia Eaton-Collins (University of Florida), Esme Morgan (Man City Women), Poppy Pattinson (Bristol City Women), Olivia Smith (University of Oklahoma), Lauren James (Man United Women), Aimee Palmer (Man United Women), Jess Park (Man City Women), Sophia Pharoah (Brighton and Hove Albion), Amy Rodgers (Liverpool), Emily Syme (Yeovil Town Ladies), Sophie Domingo (Leicester City Women), Nicole Douglas (Arizona State University), Lucy Fitzgerald (Millwall Lionesses), Hannah Griffin (FC Saarbrücken), Jessica Naz (Tottenham Hotspur Ladies) and Ella Rutherford (Bristol City Women)

Scotland squad:

Jenna Fife (Hibernian), Rachel Harrison (Spartans), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjö GIK), Chloe Arthur (Birmingham City Women), Jen Beattie (Man City Women), Frankie Brown (Bristol City Women), Nicola Docherty (Glasgow City), Joelle Murray (Hibernian), Kirsty Smith (Man United Women), Lizzie Arnot (Man United Women), Leanne Crichton (Glasgow City), Lucy Graham (Bristol City Women), Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City), Jo Love (Glasgow City), Christie Murray (Liverpool FC Women), Caroline Weir (Man City Women), Fiona Brown (FC Rosengård), Lana Clelland (AFC Fiorentina), Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea FC Women), Claire Emslie (Man City Women), Lisa Evans (Arsenal Women), Zoe Ness (Durham FC Women) and Jane Ross (West Ham United Women