clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Manchester City trio nominated for 2018 FIFA FIFPRO World 11

Two Midfielders Amongst Worlds Best

The Best FIFA Football Awards - Show Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

Three Manchester City players Kyle Walker, Kevin De Bruyne and David Silva have been named in the 55-man shortlist for 2018 FIFA FIFPRO World 11 following their stellar performances for Man City and for their respective countries in the year under review.

After a record-breaking season in which the Sky Blues ran away with the Premier League title and the League Cup. Several members of the squad stood out with outstanding performances.

City goalkeeper, Ederson was one of the best in the league. His trademark ability to play from the back set him apart from the rest. This enabled him set up attacks on many occasions. But he was also alive to his primary responsibility of keeping the ball out of his net as much as he could. However, he did not make it to the list.

City’s defenders also put in superb performances. Nicolas Otamendi stood out for his passing ability. The Argentine also chipped in some important goals as well. Benjamin Mendy was injured early in the season but Fabian Delph stepped in and shored things up.

On the right hand side Kyle Walker made a mockery of his form back in Tottenham by rising to a whole new level. The England right-back was arguably the best in the league in that position. It’s no surprise then that he has made the 55-man shortlist.

However, the midfield was the engine room for Pep Guardiola’s team. Kevin De Bruyne and David Silva pulled the strings in the middle of the park, ably backed up by the Brazilian workhorse: Fernandinho. The former duo made the shortlist and will slug it out for a place in the final FIFPRO 11.

Upfront City had one of the best front lines. Raheem Sterling was in the form of his life scoring goals for fun. He hit 18 and ranked above strikers like Romelu Lukaku and Alvaro Morata. Leroy Sane was also in top form. The young German’s contribution to the team earned him the PFA Young Player of the Year award. Surprisingly, Germany manager Joachim Low left him out of the World Cup squad. Not surprising then that he did not make the shortlist.

But ranking third in the top scorers chart behind Mohamed Salah and Harry Kane, with 21 EPL strikes perhaps Sergio Aguero should be in the list. He is not, unfortunately.

So who are those that made the list, apart from our wonderful trio?

The full list is given below:

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain/Juventus FC), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF/Chelsea FC), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United FC), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid CF), Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany/FC Barcelona).

Defenders (20): Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid CF), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus FC), Dani Alves (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Germany/FC Bayern Munich) Dejan Lovren (Croatia/Liverpool FC), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid CF), Yerry Mina (Colombia/Everton FC/FC Barcelona), Benjamin Pavard (France/VfB Stuttgart), Gerard Pique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Kieran Trippier (England/Tottenham Hotspur), Samuel Umtiti (France/FC Barcelona), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands/Liverpool FC), Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid CF), Sime Vrsaljko (Croatia/Internazionale/Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (England/Manchester City FC).

Midfielders (15): Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Casemiro (Brazil/Real Madrid CF), Philippe Coutinho (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City FC), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea FC), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Vissel Kobe/FC Barcelona), Isco (Spain/Real Madrid CF), N’Golo Kante (France/Chelsea FC), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid CF), Nemanja Matic (Serbia/Manchester United FC), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid CF), Paul Pogba (France/Manchester United FC), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City FC), Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Barcelona/FC Bayern Munich).

Forwards (15): Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid CF), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC/Real Madrid CF), Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus FC), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid), Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium/Manchester United FC), Mario Mandzukic (Croatia/Juventus FC), Sadio Mane (Senegal/Liverpool FC), Kylian Mbappe (France/Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona).