clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

West Ham vs Manchester City, Premier League: Team News, Previews, Predictions

Blues Chase For Records Continues At Hammers

Manchester City v West Ham United - Premier League
City legends: Vincent Kompany and Pablo Zabaleta
Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Manchester City – 1st (90 points), Vs West Ham 15th

Competition/Round: 2017-18 Premier League, Matchday 36

Date/Time: Sunday, April 29th, 2018, 2.15pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 9.15am EST, 6.15am PST (USA), 6.45pm IST (India)

Venue: London Stadium, London, England

Match Officials

Referee: Neil Swarbrick

Assistants: Scott Ledger and Marc Perry

Fourth Official: Bobby Madley

Team News

West Ham: Adrian will return in goal for West Ham as on-loan keeper Joe Hart cannot face his parent club. Captain Mark Noble is a doubt, but Manuel Lanzini returns from injury. Former blue Pablo Zabaleta could face his former club.

Manchester City: Fernandinho returns after a two match ban but striker Sergio Aguero is out with a knee injury. City may also give Benjamin Mendy another appearance following his return from injury in last week’s 5-0 win over Swansea.

Preview

West Ham are almost safe from relegation and one win could be enough to secure their Premier League status for next season. They’ve had a few problems this season, topped off with the demonstration by their supporters following the home defeat to Burnley. But they face a City side that are chasing records left, right and centre and will need to be on the very top of their game if they are to get anything out of it.

City meanwhile are just two goals away from scoring 100 in the Premier League and six more will break the all-time goals scored in one season. They also need another six points from the remaining games to break the all-time record point haul.

For a team fighting relegation, west Ham have scored 42 goals this season in the league, the highest of any of the seven teams around them. They have, however conceded 63, which is the second highest of the same teams.

The blues are the league’s top scorers on 98, but also have the tightest defence, conceding just 25 all season.

Possible Line Ups:

West Ham: Adrian, Rice, Ogbonna, Cresswell, Masuaku, Kouyate, Noble, Fernandes, Mario, Arnautovic

City: Ederson, Walker, Delph, Otamendi, Kompany, D Silva, Fernandinho, de Bruyne, Sterling, Sane, Jesus

Prediction

The blues have won the last two games at West Ham with a 9-0 aggregate, and despite the obvious threat from Arnautovic, Cif the play with a full strength side, it should be too much for West Ham.

West Ham 0-3 City

How to watch on TV: Sky Sports Premier League (UK), NBCSN (USA), TSN 4 (Canada), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Star Sport Select 2 (India).

How to Stream: Sky GO (UK), NBC Sports Live (USA),