clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Man City’s Sane Named Young Player Of The Year

But De Bruyne Loses Out To Salah

Manchester City v Liverpool - UEFA Champions League Quarter Final Second Leg
Young Player of the Year - Leroy Sane
Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images,

Manchester City winger Leroy Sane has won the PFA Young Player of the Year award for 2018. The German becomes the first City player to win the award since Peter Barnes in 1976.

It has been a wonderful season for sane, who has scored 13 goals and has 14 assists in the Premier League this season, and has won rave reviews from players, pundits and supporters alike as the blues marched to the Premier League title.

But it was disappointment for Belgian midfielder Kevin de Bruyne as he lost out to Liverpool’s Mo Salah to be named Player of the Year. It’s a bitter blow for de Bruyne, who has contributed with 12 goals but an incredible 20 assists so far this season.

De Bruyne scored a thirty yard screamer in today’s match at home to Swansea, but it is Salah that takes the plaudits this evening.

City also had one nomination for the women’s player of the year and three in the young women’s player. Jill Scott was the blues only representative in the main award, while Ellie Roebuck, Keira Walsh and Georgia Stanway were all up for the young player award.

Sadly for the young City trio, it was seventeen year old Lauren Hemp of Bristol City who walked away with the award. In the senior category, Jill Scott missed out to Chelsea’s Fran Kirkby. In fairness, she was up against five women from Chelsea, so it was always a long shot.

The blues had three nominees in each of the mens category, with Leroy Sane and David Silva joining him on the shortlist, while Raheem Sterling, scorer of City’s second goal today, and Ederson joined Sane on the Young Player of the year list.

As much as we all wanted Kevin to win the main award, congratulation to Mo Salah.