clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Man City Dominate PFA Team Of The Year

Aguero Finally Features After Seven Years

Arsenal v Manchester City - Carabao Cup Final Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero has finally been named in the PFA team of the year, after seven years without a nomination.

The blues record goal scorer has never featured in the team despite helping City to two previous titles, three League Cup victories and is also a previous winner of the golden boot.

Aguero, who is out for a month, was joined on the list by midfielders David Silva and Kevin de Bruyne, and defenders Nicolas Otamendi and Kyle Walker as the blues dominated the team with five representatives.

Along with Aguero, Otamendi and de Bruyne also make their first appearances in the team of the year, while Silva makes his second appearance and Walker his third. And the blues will also be hoping one of their players will finally be named as PFA Player of the Year on Sunday, with de Bruyne, Silva and and Leroy Sane all named on the six man shortlist. They face stiff competition from Harry Kane, Mo Salah and David de Gea.

In addition, City have three nominees for young Player of the Year, with Sane joining Raheem Sterling and goalkeeper Ederson on the list. The blues will be hoping to claim that title for the first time since Peter Barnes won it in 1976, while Kyle Walker won it with Spurs in 2012. Trying to stop a City clean sweep will be Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford and Fulham’s seventeen year old Ryan Sessegnon.