clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tottenham vs Manchester City, Premier League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

After one of the worst weeks we’ve ever seen Manchester City have, the Blues are desperate to win a game of football again

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Manchester City (1st, 84pts) vs Tottenham Hotspur (4th, 67pts)


Competition/Round: 2017-18 Premier League, Matchday 34

Man City team news: Fernandinho (out, suspended), Sergio Agüero (knee, out), Benjamin Mendy (knee, doubtful), John Stones (fitness, doubtful)

Tottenham team news: Harry Winks (out, ankle), Danny Rose (out, calf), Kyle Walker-Peters (out, hamstring)

Date/Time: Saturday, April 14th, 2018, 7.45pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 2.45pm EST, 11.45am PST (USA), 12.15am IST (India, next day)

Venue: Wembley Stadium, London, England

Referee: Jonathan Moss

How to watch on TV: Sky Sports Premier League (UK), NBCSN (USA), Sportsnet World (Canada), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Star Sports Select 2 (India), others

How to stream: Sky GO (UK), NBC Sports Live (USA), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


If you’ve been a Manchester City fan for a long time, you might feel insulted by this, but this is the worst week I’ve ever experience in my near decade of supporting this team. I don’t remember feeling so helpless, and not in a good way like in that Hamilton song, really helpless in the sense of not seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

The bad loss at Anfield, the Derby comeback and the ridiculous refereeing over all three gameas have combined to really make me concerned about the end of this season. I am actually worried about losing the Premier League in the biggest collapse of all time in all sports, so winning at Wembley against a fantastic Tottenham team will definitely help with my confidence.

Pep Guardiola is once again a bad manager who is lucky to have a lot of money and great players, so he also needs this win to stop all the nonsense. Beating Mauricio Pochettino has not been easy for Pep, but the last game between these two saw one of the most dominant performances of the season and a 4-1 win that showed why City are (still) the best team in England.

Can we do that again, please?


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-3-3): Ederson; Walker, Kompany, Laporte, Delph; De Bruyne, Gundogan, Silva; Sterling, Jesus, Sané

Spurs (4-2-3-1): Lloris; Trippier, Sánchez, Vertonghen, Davies; Dier, Dembélé; Eriksen, Alli, Son; Kane


PREDICTION

This team is too good to lose four games in a row, right? Plus, Pep loves Wembley and Spurs always bring out the best in City: 4-2 to the Blues in a great game.