clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs Chelsea, Premier League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

Pep, Conte, De Bruyne, Hazard. This should be fun.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Chelsea v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

Manchester City (1st, 75pts) vs Chelsea (5th, 53pts)


Competition/Round: 2017-18 Premier League, Matchday 29

Man City team news: Benjamin Mendy (out), Fernandinho (out), Fabian Delph (suspended), Raheem Sterling (doubtful), Kyle Walker (doubtful)

Chelsea team news: Ethan Ampadu (out), Tiémoué Bakayoko (out), David Luiz (out), Ross Barkley (doubtful)

Date/Time: Sunday, March 4th, 2018, 4pm GMT (UK), 5pm WAT (Nigeria), 11am EST, 8am PST (USA), 9.30pm IST (India)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Referee: Michael Oliver

How to watch on TV: Sky Sports Premier League (UK), NBCSN (USA), Sportsnet (Canada), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Star Sports Select 1 (India), others

How to stream: Sky GO (UK), NBC Sports Live (USA), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


The march to the Premier League title continues for Manchester City, and one of the most difficult matches left in the calendar happens this Sunday at the Etihad when the Blues welcome defending champions Chelsea for a huge game. Pep Guardiola and Antonio Conte always give us entertaining 90 minutes inside the pitch and in the touchline, and it shouldn’t be any different in this one.

A win here is crucial for City, who will be 19 points clear at the top of the table before Manchester United play on Monday, so three points against Chelsea will pretty much guarantee the title and allow the leaders to focus on the Champions League. For Chelsea, an upset at the Etihad will give them a huge lift in their fight for a top-four finish, so expect a pretty good game.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-2-3-1): Ederson; Walker, Otamendi, Laporte, Danilo; De Bruyne, Gundogan; Bernardo, Silva, Sané; Agüero

Chelsea (3-4-3): Courtois; Azpilicueta, Christensen, Rüdiger; Moses, Kanté, Fàbregas, Alonso; Willian, Hazard, Pedro


PREDICTION

This will be a pretty good game, and City will come out on top: 3-1 to the home Blues.