clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for Champions League match against Basel

Pep Guardiola has called up 20 players for the trip to Switzerland

FBL-EUR-C1-MAN CITY-TRAINING Photo credit should read PAUL ELLIS/AFP/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! The Blues are in Switzerland for the first leg of their UEFA Champions League Round of 16 tie with FC Basel, and Pep Guardiola has called 20 players for the trip.

The full squad is below. Keep in mind that only 18 players can be in uniform, so two players will be cut from the final matchday squad.


Goalkeepers: 1. Claudio Bravo, 31. Ederson Moraes, 49. Aro Muric

Defenders: 2. Kyle Walker, 3. Danilo Luiz, 4. Vincent Kompany, 5. John Stones, 14. Aymeric Laporte, 18. Fabian Delph, 30. Nicolás Otamendi, 35. Oleksandr Zinchenko

Midfielders: 8. Ilkay Gundogan, 17. Kevin De Bruyne, 20. Bernardo Silva, 21. David Silva, 25. Fernandinho, 47. Phil Foden

Forwards: 7. Raheem Sterling, 10. Sergio Agüero, 19. Leroy Sané


This list brings a lot of good news for the Blues: David Silva, Fabian Delph and Leroy Sané are all back from injury, and while none of them are expected to start on Tuesday it’s a big boost to have them back in time for the Champions League. Only Gabriel Jesus and Benjamin Mendy will miss out due to injury, but these are the only problems for Pep.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ederson; Walker, Otamendi, Laporte, Danilo; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, Gundogan; Bernardo, Agüero, Sterling


The match kicks off at 7.45pm GMT (UK), 8.45pm WAT (Nigeria), 2.45pm EST, 11.45am PST (USA), 1.15am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON, CITY!