clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs Burnley Preview: Team News, Predicted Lineups, Ways to Watch

City start their FA Cup journey with lots of injuries and a tough opponent

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City Training and Press Conference Photo by Victoria Haydn/Man City via Getty Images

The FA Cup is back! I don’t know about you guys, but I’m a fan of this competition. It’s the oldest club tournament in history and it’s still a big deal to a lot of people, not only in England but around the world. The journey to Wembley is always a fun one to follow, and it’s even better when our team wins it.

Manchester City kick off their new FA Cup journey with a 3rd Round match against fellow Premier League side Burnley. The Clarets, managed by Sean Dyche, have had a sensational season with a squad that’s expected to fight relegation. But the team is extremely well coached and has a realistic shot at European football next season, and they’ve made every game against Pep Guardiola and his men extremely tough.

Even though both Guardiola and Dyche are planning to rotate their sides due to the busy fixture list, we’re still in for a really good game between two teams who are very good at what they do. This should be fun.


MATCH INFO, TV & STREAMING

Competition/Round: FA Cup 3rd Round (a.k.a. Round of 64)

Date/Time: Saturday, January 6, 2018, 15:00 GMT (UK), 16:00 WAT (Nigeria), 10:00 EST, 7:00 PST (USA), 20:30 IST (India)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Referee: Graham Scott

Television: Not televised (UK), Fox Sports 1 (USA), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Sportsnet World (Canada), SONY TEN 2 (India)

Online streaming: Fox Sports GO (USA), Sportsnet World Now (Canada), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

Gabriel Jesus is out. Vincent Kompany is out. Benjamin Mendy is out. Phil Foden is out. David Silva may be out. Kyle Walker may be out. There are a lot of injuries right now, and Pep Guardiola has a real selection headache for this one. He wants to go with a strong team, but there’s a League Cup semifinal against Bristol City on Tuesday night and that’s also an important match. It’s really hard to figure out what Pep will do, but his pre-match press conference had a strong suggestion he will go with the best team he can pick, but we don’t know what is the best team he can pick.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City: Bravo; Danilo, Stones, Mangala, Delph; De Bruyne, Touré, Gundogan; Sterling, Agüero, Sané

Burnley: Pope; Lowton, Tarkowski, Long, Taylor; Gudmundsson, Cork, Westwood, Wells; Walters, Vokes


PREDICTION

It’s always really tough against a Sean Dyche team, but we’ll get the job done: 2-0 City.