clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs West Bromwich Albion: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

The Blues are back in Premier League action. Can they finish January with a win?

West Bromwich Albion v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

Manchester City (1st, 65pts) vs West Bromwich Albion (20th, 20pts)


Competition/Round: 2017-18 Premier League, Matchday 25

Man City injuries: Leroy Sané, Gabriel Jesus, Fabian Delph, Phil Foden, Benjamin Mendy

West Brom injuries: Jonny Evans, Kieran Gibbs, Jake Livermore, Hal Robson-Kanu, Nacer Chadli, James Morrison

Date/Time: Wednesday, January 31, 2018, 8pm GMT (UK), 9pm WAT (Nigeria), 3pm EST, 12pm PST (USA), 1:30am IST (India, next day)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

How to watch on TV: Not Televised (UK, USA), SuperSport 5 (Nigeria), TSN4 (Canada), Star Sports Select 2 (India), others

How to stream: NBC Sports Gold (USA), TSN GO (Canada)


The Premier League is back! After a weekend off for FA Cup action, the best league in the world is upon us once again, and with 14 matches left in the season Manchester City remain in fantastic position to win the title. The Blues are currently 12 points clear at the top of the table, and if Tottenham Hotspur beat Manchester United the gap between 1st and 2nd place could be as big as 15 points.

But Pep Guardiola and his men will not be concentrated on Spurs and United, they have to beat a tricky West Brom side. The Baggies are bottom of the league thanks to a horrible start to the season, but under new manager Alan Pardew they have slowly improved and picked up big points in recent matches. More importantly, they just beat Liverpool at Anfield with a fantastic performance, and even though thatr game was in the FA Cup they still beat Liverpool at Anfield, which gives them great confidence.

Albion will be defensive organized as always, but under Pardew they have more of an attacking threat with Jay Rodriguez as their man in form, and they can cause problems to City. The Blues are also dealing with a number of injuries to important players, and the signing of Aymeric Laporte is crucial to add depth to the squad. Maybe Riyad Mahrez is coming too, and maybe Mahrez will be announced during the game! Deadline Days are crazy, and games on Deadline Day are even crazier. This should be fun.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-3-3): Ederson; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Zinchenko; Fernandinho; Bernardo, De Bruyne, D.Silva, Sterling; Agüero

West Brom (4-4-2): Foster; Nyom, Dawson, Hegazi, Brunt; Phillips, Krychowiak, Barry, McClean; Rodriguez, Rondón


PREDICTION

West Brom are improving and it’s not easy to beat Liverpool, but we’ll still get the job done despite the distractions and injuries: 3-1 City.