clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cardiff City vs Manchester City: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comment

Can the Blues advance to the FA Cup fifth round?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City Training Session Photo by Victoria Haydn/Man City via Getty Images

Cardiff City (Championship) vs Manchester City (Premier League)


Competition/Round: FA Cup 4th Round (Round of 32)

Man City injuries: Gabriel Jesus, Benjamin Mendy, Fabian Delph, Phil Foden

Cardiff injuries: Craig Bryson, Matthew Connolly, Aron Gunnarsson, Lee Peltier, Danny Ward

Date/Time: Sunday, January 28, 2018, 4pm GMT (UK), 5pm WAT (Nigeria), 11am EST, 8am PST (USA), 7:30pm IST (India)

Venue: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff, Wales

How to watch on TV: BBC One (UK), Fox Sports 2 (USA), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Sportsnet World (Canada), SONY ESPN (India), others

How to stream: BBC iPlayer (UK), FOX Sports GO, Fox Soccer Match Pass (USA), Sportsnet World Now (Canada), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)


The magic of the Cups! After booking a place in the Final of the NOT CARABAO CUP, IT’S LEAGUE CUP in 30 days against Arsenal at Wembley, Manchester City are back in FA Cup action for a fourth round matchup with Championship promotion contenders Cardiff City, who are very much alive in the race for an automatic place in the Premier League and have a really good team.

They also play in one of the best atmospheres in English football, even though they play in Wales. The Cardiff City Stadium will be packed with some amazing fans who will make it really, really tough for Pep Guardiola and his men, but the Blues faced a similar hostile environment at Ashton Gate in midweek and did quite well. Will Pep’s boys avoid an upset and continue their quest for a quadruple? We’ll find out.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-3-3): Bravo; Danilo, Stones, Kompany, Zinchenko; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, D.Silva; Sterling, Agüero, Sané

Cardiff (5-2-3): Etheridge; Richards, Manga, Morrison, Bamba, Bennett; Grujic, Ralls; Wildschut, Zohore, Hoilett


PREDICTION

This will not be an easy game at all, but City will take it seriously and get the win: 3-1 to the Blues.