clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bristol City vs Manchester City: Team News, Possible Lineups, Preview, Prediction

New, comments

The Blues play the second leg of the League Cup semi-final looking to book a trip to Wembley

Manchester City v Bristol City - Carabao Cup Semi-Final: First Leg Photo by Manchester City FC/Man City via Getty Images

Bristol City vs Manchester City


Competition/Round: THE NOT CARABAO CUP, IT’S LEAGUE CUP semi-final, 2nd leg

First Leg Result: Manchester City 2-1 Bristol City

Man City injuries: Gabriel Jesus, Phil Foden, Fabian Delph, Benjamin Mendy, Vincent Kompany

Bristol City injuries: Gary O’Neil, Jens Hegeler, Eros Pisano, Callum O’Dowda, Ivan Lucic, Nathan Baker (Doubtful), Frank Fielding (Doubtful)

Date/Time: Tuesday, January 23, 2018, 19:45 GMT (UK), 20:45 WAT (Nigeria), 14:45 EST, 11:45 PST (USA), 01:15 IST (India, next day)

Venue: Ashton Gate, Bristol, England

How to watch on TV: Sky Sports Football (UK), ESPN Deportes (USA - Spanish), others

How to stream: Sky GO (UK), WatchESPN (USA), DAZN (Canada)


Manchester City are one game away from Wembley! The Blues travel to Ashton Gate on Tuesday night for the second leg of the IT’S NOT CARABAO CUP, IT’S LEAGUE CUP semi-final against Bristol City. The Championship side made things incredibly tough for the Premier League’s virtual champions at the Etihad and very nearly got a draw out of the first leg.

But Sergio Agüero scored a late winner to give City a slim advantage going into the return leg, and that goal might prove crucial: Bristol cannot have the same gameplan they executed so well at the Etihad and will be forced to go forward a lot more to try and get a goal, which could make themselves vulnerable to City’s lethal counter attacks.

Bristol have proved they can still attack and be very well organized, though, so maybe their Etihad gameplan will suit them just perfectly in this one as well. Pep Guardiola and his men are obviously favorites to go through, but it will not be easy.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-3-3): Bravo; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Zinchenko; Gundogan, Yaya Touré; Bernardo, De Bruyne, Sané; Agüero

Bristol City (4-4-2): Steele; Wright, Flint, Baker, Magnusson; Brownhill, Smith, Pack, Bryan; Paterson, Reid


PREDICTION

The first leg proved this will be tough again, but the Blues are going to Wembley: 3-1 to the visitors.