clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Man City vs Newcastle: Team News, Predicted Lineups, Preview, Prediction

New, comment

City look to bounce back from their first loss of the season with a tough game at home

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Newcastle United v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

Manchester City (1st, 62pts) v Newcastle (15th, 23pts)


Competition/Round: 2017/18 Premier League, Matchday 24

Man City injuries: Gabriel Jesus, Vincent Kompany, Fabian Delph, Phil Foden, Benjamin Mendy

Newcastle injuries: Florian Lejeune

Date/Time: Saturday, January 20, 2018, 17:30 GMT (UK), 18:30 WAT (Nigeria), 12:30 EST, 09:30 PST (USA), 23:00 IST (India)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

How to watch on TV: BT Sport 1 (UK), NBC (USA), TSN5 (Canada), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Star Sports Select 1 (India), others

How to stream: BT Sport Live (UK), NBC Sports Live, NBC Sports Gold, FuboTV (USA), TSN GO (Canada)

SBN Blog: Coming Home Newcastle


So we lost a game! It’s been so long since that happened this has been the weirdest week I’ve had as a Manchester City fan. Should we be worried at all about this being the start of a terrible run that might put our title win in danger? Or was last Sunday just an outlier on what could be one of the greatest seasons by a champion in Premier League history?

I’ve honestly been back and forth on this, but thankfully we’ll get the answers we need on Saturday against Newcastle. The Magpies made things very tough at St. James’ Park last month and nearly got a draw in the end, and it’ll be very interesting to see if Rafa Benítez goes to the Etihad looking to frustrate literally every person watching this game with the most negative approach we’ve ever seen, or if he’ll copy Liverpool and go after the Blues looking to force a mistake and get a goal.

It’s also very interesting to see how City will react to losing their first game. Having a full week to rest and prepare for this match is obviously a plus, but we’ve also been on a losing streak for over a week (as stupid as that sounds). Will Pep Guardiola and his boys get back on track right away? We shall find out.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City (4-3-3): Ederson; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Danilo; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, D.Silva; Sterling, Agüero, Sané

Newcastle (4-2-3-1): Elliot; Yedlin, Lascelles, Clark, Dummett; Diamé, Merino; Ritchie, Ayoze, Atsu; Joselu


PREDICTION

This will be as tough as it was at St. James’ Park, but I trust us to bounce back and score some late goals to get a big win: 3-0 to the Blues.