clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool vs Man City: Team News, Possible Lineups, Preview, Prediction

New, comments

Can City continue their march to the title with three points at Anfield?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City v Liverpool - Premier League Photo by Tom Flathers/Manchester City FC via Getty Images

Manchester City (1st, 62pts) vs Liverpool (4th, 44pts)


Competition/Round: Premier League Matchday 23

Man City injuries: Gabriel Jesus (knee, out), Benjamin Mendy (knee, out), Phil Foden (ankle, out), Fabian Delph (muscle, probable), Vincent Kompany (muscle, probable)

Liverpool injuries: Mohamed Salah (groin, probable), Jordan Henderson (thigh, out), Alberto Moreno (ankle, out), Daniel Sturridge (thigh, out), Nathaniel Clyne (back, out)

Date/Time: Sunday, January 14, 2018, 16:00 GMT (UK), 17:00 WAT (Nigeria), 11:00 EST, 8:00 PST (USA), 21:30 IST (India)

Venue: Anfield, Liverpool, England

How to watch on TV: Sky Sports Premier League (UK), NBCSN (USA), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), Star Sports Select 1 (India), Sportsnet World (Canada), others

How to stream: Sky GO (UK), NBC Sports Live (USA), NBC Sports Gold (USA), Sportsnet World Now (Canada), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

SBN Blog: The Liverpool Offside


The Premier League is back! Manchester City continue their march to what appears to be the first league title in the Pep Guardiola Era with what promises to be one of the toughest matches of the season: a trip to Anfield. The Blues are unbeaten and it might be time to seriously think that they might go the whole season without a loss, and avoiding defeat away to Liverpool will prove they can definitely be the Blue Invincibles.

Beating Liverpool will be no easy feat, however: the Reds have been sensational this season, and they’ve scored a lot of goals. They also have a very good defense at home, conceding just four times all season. Virgil Van Dijk will probably make his league debut for the Reds, and this will be the first game after Philippe Coutinho was officially sold to Barcelona. It’ll be interesting to see if Van Dijk’s presence has a bigger effect than Coutinho’s absence.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Liverpool (4-3-3): Mignolet; Gomez, Matip, Van Dijk, Robertson; Lallana, Can, Wijnaldum; Salah, Firmino, Mané

Man City (4-3-3): Ederson; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Delph; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, D.Silva; Sterling, Agüero, Sané


PREDICTION

This will be full of goals and excitement, but I don’t think City will win it: 2-2 draw.