clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for Champions League match against Shakhtar Donetsk

The full list of players available for Tuesday’s Champions League game

West Bromwich Albion v Manchester City - Carabao Cup Third Round Photo by Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! The Blues play their first Champions League home game of the season against Shakhtar Donetsk, and Pep Guardiola has a couple of selection problems for this game.

This is the full squad:


Goalkeepers: 1. Claudio Bravo, 31. Éderson Moraes

Defenders: 2. Kyle Walker, 3. Danilo Luiz, 5. John Stones, 15. Eliaquim Mangala, 22. Benjamin Mendy*, 24. Tosin Adarabioyo, 30. Nicolas Otamendi

Midfielders: 17. Kevin De Bruyne, 18. Fabian Delph, 19. Leroy Sané, 20. Bernardo Silva, 21. David Silva, 25. Fernandinho, 42. Yaya Touré, 47. Phil Foden

Forwards: 7. Raheem Sterling, 10. Sergio Agüero, 33. Gabriel Jesus, 55. Brahim Díaz

*Maybe!!!


Vincent Kompany and Ilkay Gundogan miss out with injury and Benjamin Mendy could also be ruled out if he doesn’t pass his pre-match test, so Pep has less players than usual but he can still choose a pretty strong team against Shakhtar.

Predicted starting lineup (4-3-3):

Éderson; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Danilo; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, Silva; Bernardo, Agüero, Jesus


The match kicks off on Tuesday at 7:45pm (UK & Nigeria) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA) / 12:15am IST (India, Wednesday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON, CITY!