clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs. Crystal Palace, Premier League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

New, comments

The Blues are huge favorites to win, but this could be a Typical City game for the ages

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Watford v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

The Premier League is back, and the leaders Manchester City have a big opportunity to get another big win and stay on top of the table when they welcome bottom of the league Crystal Palace to the Etihad.

Palace began the first team in the history of English football’s top flight to end the first five matches of the season with zero goals and zero points, and new manager Roy Hodgson hasn’t had time to change things yet. The Eagles won’t be looking to fly at the Etihad; they’ll sit deep and park a bus for 90 minutes, looking for a set piece or freak mistake from City to get a shocking result.

This could be a shocking Saturday for the Blues if they take the game 99% seriously and don’t work their absolute hardest for the victory. This looks like an easy game on paper, but this is Manchester City and literally anything can happen. This is Typical City for a reason.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Saturday, September 23, 2017, 3pm (UK & Nigeria), 10am ET, 7am PT (USA), 7:30pm IST (India)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Television: Not Televised (UK), NBCSN (USA), SuperSport 2 (Nigeria), Sportsnet (Canada), Star Sports Select 2 (India)

Online streaming: NBC Sports Live (USA), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

There’s a giant Typical City potential in this game, so Pep Guardiola will make sure he puts out a really strong lineup to secure the win as soon as possible. Thanks to the rotations against West Brom in midweek, the biggest stars in the squad were rested and will all come back, including David Silva, Kevin De Bruyne and Sergio Agüero. Expect a very similar lineup to the team that battered Watford FC last week, with the only likely change being Leroy Sané in place of Raheem Sterling.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Manchester City (4-3-3)

Éderson; Walker, Stones, Otamendi, Mendy; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, Silva; G. Jesus, Agüero, Sané

Crystal Palace (4-2-3-1)

Hennessey; Ward, Dann, Sakho, Schlupp; McArthur, Cabaye; Townsend, Loftus-Cheek, Puncheon; Benteke


PREDICTION

This game screams Typical City, but we’ll take this game seriously and get a very good win: 3-0 to the Blues.