clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for friendly against Girona

City have one final preparation match, and Pep Guardiola has called up 25 players for it

West Bromwich Albion v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! Three days after the season opener at Brighton, City are in Spain for a friendly against newly promoted La Liga side Girona, who will play their final preseason match before their first game in the Spanish league.

Pep Guardiola called up 25 players for the trip to Catalonia and the squad has been in Girona since Sunday, training on Monday and playing against Girona today. City will then have a few more training sessions before coming back to England this weekend and getting ready for the first match at the Etihad this season, on Monday against Everton.

This is the full squad for the Girona match:


Goalkeepers: 1. Claudio Bravo, 31. Éderson Moraes, 32. Daniel Grimshaw

Defenders: 3. Danilo Luiz, 4. Vincent Kompany, 5. John Stones, 15. Eliaquim Mangala, 22. Benjamin Mendy, 24. Tosin Adarabioyo, 30. Nicolas Otamendi

Midfielders: 8. Ilkay Gundogan, 17. Kevin De Bruyne, 18. Fabian Delph, 19. Leroy Sané, 20. Bernardo Silva, 21. David Silva, 25. Fernandinho, 35. Oleksandr Zinchenko, 42. Yaya Touré, 47. Phil Foden

Forwards: 7. Raheem Sterling, 10. Sergio Agüero, 27. Patrick Roberts, 33. Gabriel Jesus, 55. Brahim Díaz


Kyle Walker has been given permission from Pep Guardiola to miss the trip to sort out some personal issues this week, and there’s no injury or other problem with the new right-back. Mendy went with the squad and joined training on Monday, and there’s a small chance he plays a few minutes in the end. The same goes for Gundogan, who looks set to make his return after a long injury absence.

Guardiola will likely rotate his team heavily to give chances to all 25 players (if Mendy plays), so this really is a preseason friendly after the start of the season.

Predicted starting lineup (3-1-4-2):

Éderson; Otamendi, Stones, Mangala; Touré; Danilo, De Bruyne, Silva, Sané; Bernardo, Sterling


The match kicks off at 5pm BST (UK) / 12pm ET, 9am PT (USA) / 9:30pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON, CITY!