clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for Premier League season opener against Brighton

The full list of City players available for the first match of the new season

Manchester City v West Ham United - Pre Season Friendly Photo by Ian Walton/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! The Blues start the new Premier League season at The Amex Stadium against Premier League debutants Brighton & Hove Albion on Saturday afternoon.

Pep Guardiola has quite a few players available for this match, and he can only pick 18 to be in uniform. This is the full list:


Goalkeepers: 1. Claudio Bravo, 31. Éderson Moraes

Defenders: 2. Kyle Walker, 3. Danilo Luiz, 4. Vincent Kompany, 5. John Stones, 15. Eliaquim Mangala, 24. Tosin Adarabioyo, 28. Jason Denayer, 30. Nicolas Otamendi

Midfielders: 7. Raheem Sterling, 11. Samir Nasri, 17. Kevin De Bruyne, 19. Leroy Sané, 20. Bernardo Silva, 21. David Silva, 25. Fernandinho 42. Yaya Touré, 47. Phil Foden

Forwards: 10. Sergio Agüero, 33. Gabriel Jesus, 55. Brahim Díaz


Pep has a pretty healthy squad ahead of the first game of the season, but two players are still out: Benjamin Mendy and Ilkay Gundogan are recovering from injuries and should be back by the end of August. Everybody else is fit and ready to go. The official team news don’t come until 60 minutes before the match, but it’s safe to assume City will have a back three at the Amex.

Predicted starting lineup (3-1-4-2):

Éderson; Kompany, Stones, Otamendi; Touré; Walker, De Bruyne, Silva, Danilo; Agüero, G.Jesus


The match kicks off at 5:30pm BST (UK) / 12:30pm ET, 9:30am PT (USA) / 10pm IST (India), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON, CITY!