clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blues and Foxes fight for a place in the semi-finals of the NOT CARABAO CUP

Team news, full match preview and score prediction.

Manchester City v Feyenoord - UEFA Champions League Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Manchester City return to action just three days after destroying Tottenham Hotspur with a trip to ex-Premier League champions Leicester City in the quarter-finals of the League Cup, which we STILL ARE NOT GOING TO CALL THE CARABAO CUP BECAUSE THIS IS A HORRIBLE NAME.

Anyway, the Blues come into this one in spectacular form, with just one loss all season and a 16-game winning streak in the league. One of those 16 straight wins came at the King Power Stadium back in November, with the Blues winning 2-0 thanks to a very dominant performance from start to finish.

Pep Guardiola will hope his team can have a repeat of the wonderful football played that day, but things will be different this time. It’s a cup match, which means that Leicester will take the game to City instead of parking the bus and hoping to get a point in a league match.

Also, Claude Puel has done a wonderful job coaching the Foxes and it was him who took Southampton to the League Cup final last season, which shows he knows how to go far in this competition and beating the big teams on the way.

City will need to play very well to win this one, and they’re certainly capable of doing it. Cup matches are different, but City’s quality definitely is the same.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Tuesday, December 19, 2017, 7:45pm GMT (UK), 8:45pm WAT (Nigeria), 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA), 1;15am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: King Power Stadium, Leicester, England

Television: Sky Sports Football (UK), Not Televised (USA, Canada, Nigeria, India)

Online streaming: Sky GO (UK), WatchESPN (USA), DAZN (Canada), Kwesé Sports (Nigeria)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

Pep Guardiola will most likely rotate his squad for this one, even though the next match is on Saturday against AFC Bournemouth at home. Still, the (lack of) importance of the NOT CARABAO CUP and the amount of matches the Blues still have to play for the next few weeks gives the manager a lot of good reasons to rest some of his most important players.

David Silva is definitely out for personal reasons, and Kevin De Bruyne should probably be rested too. Fabian Delph may get a night off as well, and Claudio Bravo will come in for Ederson in goal. The rest of the team is hard to predict, but we should see a very different side compared to the win against Spurs.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Man City: Bravo; Danilo, Adarabioyo, Mangala, Zinchenko; Gundogan, Touré, Foden; Bernardo, Jesus, Brahim

Leicester: Hamer; Amartey, Dragovic, Maguire, Chilwell; Albrighton, King, Iborra, Gray; Okazaki, Iheanacho


PREDICTION

Every cup game away to Premier League teams is tough, but we’ll get the job done even with a rotated side: 3-1 to the visitors.