clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs Southampton, Premier League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

Can City get one step closer to a Premier League record?

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Huddersfield Town v Manchester City - Premier League Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

As we approach the end of the calendar year in English football, the matches come thick and fast. You don’t have a lot of time to rest, you may not play as well all the time, and you just have to find ways to keep winning.

Manchester City had an incredibly difficult game against Huddersfield Town on Sunday night, but they found a way to win. Just three days later, City are right back in Premier League action with another difficult game, against Southampton at the Etihad. The Blues lead the Premier League and have won 11 consecutive matches, three shy of the record set by Arsenal in 2002.

If they beat Southampton on Wednesday and West Ham United on Sunday, City will have a chance to equal the record in the Manchester Derby against Manchester United in 10 days. Can you imagine the scenes if that happens? Before we think about that, though, it’s time to focus on a very dangerous Southampton side that can make things tough for any top team in the league.

This will be difficult, but City can take another step towards history. One way or another.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Wednesday, November 29, 2017, 8pm GMT (UK), 9pm WAT (Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 1:30 IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Television: Not Televised (UK), NBCSN (USA), SuperSport 5 (Nigeria)

Online streaming: FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

A very busy month of December is rapidly approaching, so it’s safe to expect Pep Guardiola to carefully manage his squad and rotate the pieces as much as possible. We won’t see lots and lots of changes in every game, but enough planned alterations to rest players and still have a strong team available every three days for the next month or so. The rotation against Saints will most likely be focused on the attacking side, with players like Ilkay Gundogan, Bernardo Silva and Gabriel Jesus probable to start in this one.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Manchester City (4-3-3)

Ederson; Walker, Kompany, Otamendi, Delph; De Bruyne, Fernandinho, Silva; Bernardo, Jesus, Sané

Southampton (4-3-3)

Forster; Cédric, Van Dijk, Hoedt, Bertrand; Davis, Romeu, Lemina; Tadic, Austin, Boufal


PREDICTION

This will be as tough as it was in Huddersfield, but City will get the job done once again: 3-1 to the Blues.