clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs. Feyenoord, 2017 Champions League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

The Blues look to guarantee first place in their group and give chances to reserves and youngsters

SSC Napoli v Manchester City - UEFA Champions League Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Just three days after a great win away to Leicester City, Manchester City return to action with a Champions League match against Feyenoord at the Etihad. The Blues have already qualified and a draw would be enough to guarantee first place in their group if Shakhtar Donetsk don’t beat Napoli in the other match of Group F.

Pep Guardiola is delighted with the performances of his team, but the results have been great as well. In previous seasons the Blues have always come to the final two matches of the group stage needing multiple points to either win the group of qualify for the knockout rounds, but this time they’ve done the job early against very difficult opposition in Shakhtar and Napoli.

The football is beautiful, the results are strong, and the game against Feyenoord could be a showcase for younger talent. This could be the start of the Foden Era, and it’s also another chance to see Sergio Agüero scoring some goals. So yeah, can’t miss this one.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Tuesday, November 21, 2017, 7:45pm (UK), 8:45pm (Nigeria), 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (USA), 1:15am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Television: BT Sport ESPN (UK), Fox Soccer Plus (USA), SuperSport 2 (Nigeria), TSN1 (Canada), Sony ESPN (India)

Online streaming: BT Sport Live Streaming (UK), Fox Sports GO (USA), TSN GO (Canada)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

The Blues have a very busy schedule from now until the end of the year, so Pep Guardiola will surely rotate his squad in nearly every game, starting with this one. The stakes are low and the opponent isn’t that good, so Pep can afford to make a lot of changes to his usual starting lineup and still have a pretty strong team on the pitch. We could see Ederson , Kyle Walker, Vincent Kompany, Fabian Delph, Fernandinho, Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Gabriel Jesus all rested, with reserves and young players getting minutes.

One of those young players could be Phil Foden, who’s been knocking on the first team door since preseason and might make his debut for the club in a Champions League game, which would be amazing.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Manchester City (4-3-3)

Bravo; Danilo, Otamendi, Mangala, Zinchenko; Gundogan, Touré, Foden; Bernardo, Agüero, Sané

Feyenoord (4-3-3)

Jones; Nieuwkoop, Tapia, St. Juste, Haps; Amrabat, Vilhena, Toornstra; Berghuis, Jørgensen, Boëtius


PREDICTION

The changes might hurt the chemistry, but the players will be good enough to get a win: 3-1 to the Blues.