clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Leicester City vs. Manchester City, 2017 Premier League: Team News, Preview, Predictions

A year after a painful defeat that changed everything, City return to Leicester looking to make a statement

Manchester City v Leicester City - Premier League Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

A little less than a year ago, Pep Guardiola suffered his worst loss as Manchester City manager. Leicester City destroyed the Blues from start to finish, and a 4-2 result was very flattering for a City team that showed immense problems. Guardiola was labeled a fraud after that game, and some were ready to say that the ‘Pep Experiment’ had failed.

Things have changed in an unbelievable way since then. The first few months after the loss were still tough, but City have not lost a game since April and are unbeaten after 17 games in all competitions this season playing absolutely incredible football.

City have an eight-point lead at the top of the Premier League and are clear favorites for the title, but there’s still a long way to go and one loss is all it takes to change everything. Just look at the Leicester game.

Winning at the King Power will be a statement from City, and it will prove once again that Pep Guardiola is not a fraud.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Saturday, November 18, 2017, 3pm (UK), 4pm (Nigeria), 10am ET, 7am PT (USA), 8:30pm IST (India)

Venue: King Power Stadium, Leicester, England

Television: NBCSN (USA), Not Televised (UK), SuperSport 3 (Nigeria), TSN1 (Canada), Star Sports Select 1 (India)

Online streaming: NBC Sports Live (USA), TSN GO (Canada), FuboTV (7-day free trial, click here to sign up)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

For the first time this season Pep Guardiola has quite a few problems to select his team. Along with the long-time issues of Vincent Kompany and Benjamin Mendy, Nicolas Otamendi is suspended while Fabian Delph, Raheem Sterling and Sergio Agüero because of injury. Pep might be forced to field a make-shift defense and change his midfield structure, but there is enough depth in the squad and Pep is definitely creative enough to come up with a good team and a good plan to beat Leicester.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Manchester City (4-3-3)

Ederson; Walker, Stones, Fernandinho, Danilo; De Bruyne, Gundogan, Silva; Bernardo, Jesus, Sané

Leicester City (4-4-2)

Schmeichel; Simpson, Morgan, Maguire, Fuchs; Mahrez, Iborra, Ndidi, Gray; Okazaki, Vardy


PREDICTION

This will be REALLY tough because of the absences, but City will get the job done one way or another: 3-1 to the visitors.