clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City vs. Wolverhampton, League Cup: Team News, Preview, Predictions

It could be a record-breaking night for City. Twice.

Manchester City v Stoke City - Premier League Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Manchester City return to action on Tuesday evening at the Etihad when they welcome Wolverhampton for their League Cup fourth round match. It is hard to care about the League Cup, especially in the early stages, but this game is special for the Blues.

Tuesday could be a historic night for the club, for two reasons: (1) Sergio Agüero only needs one goal to break Eric Brook’s record and become the all-time leading scorer in the history of Manchester City with 178 goals; and (2) City could set a new record of consecutive wins in all competitions, with 12.

Pep Guardiola will surely want both records to be broken on Tuesday night, and it could really be a special evening for those going to the Etihad. Like I said it’s hard to care about the League Cup (especially when it’s named the Carabao Cup), but the possibility of making history twice makes this a great game.

Oh, and City will face a pretty good team too. Wolves lead the Championship, are the top scorers and play great football, and even if manager Nuno Espírito Santo makes a lot of changes to his team they will be difficult to beat. It’ll be a good game to watch, and it could be a historic night. So yeah, can’t miss this one.


MATCH INFO, TV/STREAMING

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 8pm (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12:30am IST (India, Wednesday)

Venue: Etihad Stadium, Manchester, England

Television: Not Televised (UK, USA, Canada, India), Kwesé Sports 1 (Nigeria)

Online streaming: WatchESPN (USA)

(Listings via LiveSoccerTV)


TEAM NEWS

Pep will certainly use this game as an opportunity to rotate his squad and rest most of his big players. We definitely won’t see David Silva or Kevin De Bruyne in this one, and players like Kyle Walker, John Stones and Fernandinho are also probably getting a night off. Oleksandr Zinchenko is likely to make his City debut at left-back, and a pretty good front three of Raheem Sterling, Gabriel Jesus and Sergio Agüero will look to score some goals early, give Agüero his record and kill the tie as soon as possible.

The perfect scenario for this night would be the two records, no injuries, and young players showing their worth. Here’s hoping we get all of it.


POSSIBLE LINEUPS

Manchester City (4-3-3)

Bravo; Danilo, Adarabioyo, Mangala, Zinchenko; Gundogan, Touré, Bernardo; Sterling, Agüero, Jesus

Wolverhampton (3-4-3)

Norris; Batth, Coady, Miranda; Marshall, N’Diaye, Price, Deslandes; Cavaleiro, Enobakhare, Zyro


PREDICTION

Sergio Agüero will make history, and City will set a new record: 3-1 to the Blues.