clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Swansea City vs Manchester City, 2016 EFL Cup: Start time, TV listings, live stream

The League Cup title defense kicks off in Wales for Pep Guardiola's team

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Manchester City v AFC Bournemouth - Premier League Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

Manchester City's perfect start to the season faces another tough test as the Sky Blues visit Liberty Stadium twice this week to face Swansea City. Before their Premier League clash on Saturday, both sides face off in the EFL Cup third round, and Pep Guardiola's side will look for a successful start to their title defense.

Winning the League Cup (formerly known as Capital One Cup) against Liverpool seven months ago was the only great moment in a pretty disappointing first half of 2016, as City collapsed and couldn't challenge for any other title. But the arrival of Guardiola and some great summer signings have revitalized this side, and City look as strong as we've seen in a while.

The entire squad is strong, and that squad depth will be put to the test on Wednesday. Guardiola promises to rotate his team and use reserves and youngsters in the first game against the Swans, and players like Leroy Sané will have a chance to prove just how bright the future of Manchester City is while helping win a ninth consecutive game to start the season.

This will be a fun game to watch, and while it's not on TV, you can catch it online with a quality (and legal) live stream if you live in the United States or Canada. The full listings are below. Do not miss it!


Date/Time: Wednesday, September 21, 2016, 7:45pm local time (BST), 8:45pm CET (Europe), 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (US), 12:15am IST (India, next day)

Venue: Liberty Stadium, Swansea, Wales

Referee: Keith Stroud

TV listings: None in US, None in UK, TEN 3 (India), elsewhere

Online streaming: beIN SPORTS CONNECT (US & Canada), elsewhere