clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for UEFA Champions League match against Borussia Mönchengladbach

20 players are in Germany for City's next European night

Manchester City Training Session and Press Conference Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! The Citizens have a very tough away game in the Champions League against Borussia Mönchengladbach on Wednesday night in Germany, and Pep Guardiola has named a squad of 20 players for the game.


Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo, Willy Caballero, Angus Gunn

Defenders: Bacary Sagna, Gael Clichy, Aleksandar Kolarov, John Stones, Nicolas Otamendi, Pablo Maffeo

Midfielders: Fernando Reges, Fernandinho, Ilkay Gundogan, Leroy Sané, Raheem Sterling, Jesus Navas, David Silva, Kevin De Bruyne

Forwards: Nolito, Sergio Agüero, Kelechi Iheanacho


The big news is the absence of Vincent Kompany and Pablo Zabaleta, who picked up knocks in the game against Crystal Palace on the weekend and weren't fit enough to travel to Germany. Pep Guardiola is likely to use a very strong team to secure three points that would guarantee a place in the knockout stages, which means youngsters Angus Gunn and Pablo Maffeo have only traveled to get to know Germany and won't be on the bench either, since just 18 players are allowed to be in uniform.

*****

Projected starting lineup (4-1-4-1):

Bravo | Sagna, Stones, Otamendi, Clichy | Fernandinho | Sané, De Bruyne, Gundogan, Silva | Agüero


The match starts at 8:45pm local time / 7:45pm BST (UK) / 2:45pm ET, 11:45am PT (US), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON, CITY!