clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Manchester City squad named for EFL Cup match against Manchester United

Who makes the cut for the Derby?

Swansea City v Manchester City - EFL Cup Third Round Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

The next Manchester City match is upon us! The Citizens travel to Old Trafford for the second Derby of the season against Manchester United, this one in the fourth round of the EFL Cup, and Pep Guardiola has a big squad to choose from.

These are the available players for selection (Pep has to choose 18 for the starting lineup and the bench):


Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo, Willy Caballero, Angus Gunn

Defenders: Pablo Maffeo, John Stones, Vincent Kompany, Nicolas Otamendi, Tosin Adarabioyo, Gaël Clichy, Aleksandar Kolarov, Angeliño Tasende, Brahim Díaz

Midfielders: Fernando Reges, Ilkay Gundogan, Jesus Navas, Fabian Delph, Leroy Sané, David Silva, Fernandinho, Aleix García

Forwards: Nolito, Sergio Agüero, Kelechi Iheanacho


Once again, just like last weekend against Southampton, Pablo Zabaleta is not fit enough to be on the squad, and Bacary Sagna isn't expected back until next month. Kevin De Bruyne has a knock and will be rested, while Yaya Touré is still yet to play thanks to his agent.

There are lots of Academy kids on the list and most of them are expected to be involved, a few even from the start. Even though it's a Derby, it's still just the League Cup and Guardiola has a visit to The Hawthorns and a huge game against Barcelona to think about, so don't expect any big names playing in this one.

*****

Projected Starting Lineup (4-1-4-1, right-left):

Caballero | Maffeo, Otamendi, Kolarov, Clichy | Fernando | Sané, García, Angeliño, Nolito | Iheanacho


The match starts at 8pm BST (UK) / 3pm ET, 12pm PT (US) / 12:30am IST (India, next day), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action.

COME ON CITY!