clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yaya Toure wins BBC African Footballer of the Year

Manchester City star lifts trophy for second time

Michael Steele/Getty Images

Manchester City's Yaya Toure became just the third African footballer to be named BBC African Footballer of the Year multiple times on Friday. Toure joins Jay Jay Okocha and Nwankwo Kanu as the only two-time winners of the award.

Toure helped lead Ivory Coast to the 2015 Cup of African Nations title. He beat out Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Sadio claim the award.

Toure upon receiving the award told BBC Sport:

"I am very proud. To receive this dedication from the fans is unbelievable," 
"Also I want to pay tribute to the other nominees. African football is growing up, becoming much better and we have fantastic young players coming through now."
"I am delighted and very happy. And as an African player, I want to lead all my younger brothers to be successful in the future.
"When I was a kid I was always dreaming of being an important player. I have sacrificed a lot.
"I will continue to try to win a trophy every year, I will fight to win a personal trophy."

In a twist of irony, Toure will face off with one of the other finalists, Swansea's Andre Ayew tomorrow at Eastlands.