clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

City name Champions League squad

Alex Livesey

With the transfer window now having closed all Champions League participants were required this week to submit their 25-man squads for the group stages of the competition.

City's squad list is as follows:

Joe Hart, Costel Pantilimon, Erik Johansen, Pablo Zabaleta, Micah Richards, Vincent Kompany, Martin Demichelis, Dedryck Boyata, Matija Nastasic, Joleon Lescott, Gael Clichy, Aleksandar Kolarov, Fernandinho, Jack Rodwell, Yaya Toure, Javi Garcia, Jesus Navas, James Milner, David Silva, Samir Nasri, Sergio Aguero, Stefan Jovetic, Alvaro Negredo, Edin Dzeko.

There are no surprises in the squad, with the possible exception of young goalkeeper Erik Johansen being selected ahead of perennial back up Richard Wright, and the squad does highlight that - with a clean bill of health - Manuel Pellegrini possesses a squad of real depth for the season ahead.

Note that clubs are not obliged to include any players aged 21 or under providing they have been at the club for two years or more. With any such players able to be placed on 'List B' this means that John Guidetti, who at first glance appears a notable exclusion, remains eligible for selection.

More from Bitter and Blue: